Carrollton Volunteer Fire Department held its annual Awards Banquet Saturday 30 January 2016 at Station-10. The welcome and entertainment provided by three local comedians was followed by supper provided by Leon Nixon Catering of Edenton, NC.

Special guests included all five members of the Isle of Wight Board of Supervisors:
Joel Acree (Windsor), Rex Alphin (Carrsville), Dick Grice (Smithfield), Rudolph Jefferson (Hardy) and William McCarty (Newport)
as well as the Chiefs of Station-40: Lee Marshall, Station-50: Jason Stallings and Station-60: Brian Carroll.    Station-30 was represented by Assistant Chief Rudolph Jefferson.

Carrollton Volunteer Fire Department Awards presented were:
- Bill Reid Service Award: Fred Mitchell
- Fire Chief's Award: Derek Brown
- President's Award: Carol Mitchell
- Firefighter of the Year: Mason Halsey

Special presentations were made to:
- Joel & Renee Acree
- James & Shirley Acree
- George & Sandy Rawls

Outgoing Chief Joel Acree was recognized and enthusiastically thanked for his 20 years of service as Fire Chief of Carrollton Volunteer Fire Dept. Numerous testimonials and commendations were presented by members of the community.

Chaplain Judy Worrell conducted the annual Blessing of the Hands Ceremony followed by the Benediction that closed the banquet.

  Viewed Counter